Tarawera Times

By Megl

Mono Monday - Old and New

This morning I was thinking about what I could do for the challenge when I looked at the vase of lily of the valley stems that my neighbour had given me yesterday (she knows I am always hunting out flowers!) and knew what I could do. It brought back a flood of memories...please excuse the reminiscing.

My parents were married in November and Mum had lily of the valley flowers in her bouquet, these flowers and their perfume always remind me of her.

When it was our wedding (44 years ago next week...getting old!) my beloved great aunt gave me her little silver vase that she had on her wedding cake, for me to use on mine. It was filled with lily of the valley, although they were artificial as I couldn't get any fresh flowers.

So this morning I hunted through a box of old silver items that I no longer keep out as with the thermal area we live in, everything tarnishes so quickly. I found the little vase, all black and tarnished and slightly bent from age and popped a few sprigs of new fresh lily of the valley in it....my "Old and New".

Thanks so much for hosting this weekly challenge Skeena, and especially this weeks one that has brought back so many memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.