Long Slow Distance

By platanos

Airport comings and goings

It's World Book Day, apparently, and I was woken at 3:42 this morning by the British Bookshops van delivering to the bookshop I lived directly above. I wasn't best pleased, in in literary mood, to be honest, bearing in mind the two delivery men seemed to think it necessary to discuss their work at high volume, and to drag crates of books noisily across the pavement.

In work at Ammonite Press, I spent the morning editing a camera book, and the afternoon in the company of my publisher and associate publisher, deciding on our list for 2011. A successful meeting.

My blip today is in suitable bookish mode: one of my favourite spreads from Airport: Twentieth Century in Pictures, which was the first book I edited for Ammonite. I love the juxtaposition of the image of the immaculate Bogey and the wonderfully rumpled Peter Lorre. The book is simple: archive images of celebrities arriving or departing from British airports, as captured by the photographers of the Press Association.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.