Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Another marina entrance...

I loved how the water was so calm in the marina but less so outside so I took a shot of the entrance of yet another marina. And I thought it was time to have a look at Lightroom so this has been edited with one of the presets. It took me long enough to find my photographs when trying to import them so I didn't have time to fiddle much due to MORE bureaucracy.

This time HMRC; (which is TAX MAN for those not in UK). I wrote to them explaining I'd left the UK and giving all the details I thought they might need. After 6 weeks I phoned to see whether they had received the letter. I had to hang on for the best part of half an hour to get through, which probably cost a fortune because 0300 numbers aren't free here. I was told that a letter had been sent the day before so I should get it in the next day or so.

Yesterday, which was two weeks later I phoned again and was told that their letters take a couple of weeks to actually leave their office because they are checked so carefully before they get sent.

Today the letter arrived! Apart from the fact that it was a page and a half of generic information on double taxation and the fact that I might continue to be liable to UK tax after I leave (I won't) it also contained somebody else's claim for a tax repayment. So very carefully checked!

All his details are there; NI number, full address, dob etc etc and his pay slip. So again I phoned. The person I spoke to was very helpful but didn't actually know the detail of the double taxation agreement between UK and Guernsey with regard to pensions. I explained it to him but that really didn't answer my question. I eventually got him to say that I had to request a variation in my payment on account, which I will do online. He thought I might have to continue submitting Self Assessment forms for ever but didn't really know... He also wondered how he could get the other persons signed claim form back but never actually decided how to go about it... I guess his tax won't be refunded until a decision is made...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.