Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Snowy waxcap

Such a beautiful autumn morning, with early mist along the river and the first grass frost of the season. I had a disturbed night and didn't get much sleep, so was reluctant to wake. As a consequence, I missed the sunrise but managed to get out to Stanground Wash just in time to catch the last of the mist.

I regularly photograph this nature reserve for the Wildlife Trust, and was overdue a visit. Conditions were ideal and I spent a very happy and peaceful couple of hours pottering slowly round the site trying to capture the joy of the day - frosted leaves, sparkling dew, sheets of reindeer lichen and moss studded with brightly coloured waxcaps and other fungi. I hadn't taken the 300mm lens, so just enjoyed the large number of goldfinches feeding on the teasels, the pair of redshank who were calling from the washes and the skeins of geese flying high overhead.

It was very hard to select just one image, but I always look forward to waxcaps appearing, and although the snowy waxcap lacks the bright colours of some of its relatives, it has a wonderfully elegant shape, especially when the low sun shines through its translucent margin.

Much of my time was spent kneeling on the ground photographing very tiny things, and after two hours my boots and trousers were soaked! It was good to get back home for a hot drink and a rather late breakfast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.