PeckhamBelle

By PeckhamBelle

Eyes Wide Open

I went to see My Granny today. She's not been very well and she was in hospital when I arrived. I heard her before I saw her; 'everyone's been SO kind', 'this is the BEST hotel I've ever stayed in'. Then she saw me and I was promptly and loudly introduced to everyone on the ward; 'This is my GRANDDAUGHTER. Isn't she GORGEOUS?' It is impossible not to laugh. Our conversation was conducted at an ear-splitting level. She was so grateful for the kindness of the nurses, but was loudly and vocally angry at the transport service who had kept her waiting for a lift home since 3pm on Tuesday (she finally got home at midday on Wednesday). 'I've written a letter - It's a DISGRACE!'

She's 101, the fact that she's even able to pick up a pen is a bloody miracle, let alone fire off stinging letters to hospital chiefs.

It was lovely to see her. I'm very glad she's alright; 'I've had three pints of blood - I'm a NEW WOMAN!!' but, honestly, I'm not sure if there's anything good about living to 101.

These eyes open and shut outside the Wellcome Collection on the Euston Road.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.