The folks who live on the hill.

I had to be in town early to go to Specsavers, for an eye test at 9 o'clock. J usually drops me at the bottom of this hill, as it's just a short walk over, and it avoids the early morning traffic. As you can see the road was closed, so J dropped me at the top. I have wanted to blip this many times, but there are always cars parked both sides. It's called Newcastle Hill, and is one of the oldest parts of Bridgend. Many moons ago, when J was younger, he used to cycle up this hill, and that was with a Sturmey Archer, three speed bike, not your modern day de-railer. Those days are long gone! My eye test was fine, and i didn't need any new glasses, so i saved J a fortune! I only need then for reading, anyway. When i came out, i telephoned J to meet me, and we went to Cowbridge. We did a small shop in Waitrose, and then had the free coffees, and some sandwiches. While J was waiting in the queue, he saw a biker friend who he hasn't seen for a few years. He came and sat with us, and we asked him how he was, and he told us his wife was diagnosed with terminal cancer in March. I think he was grateful to have someone to talk to. She is a nurse, and was due to retire soon. Such sad news. We drove home almost in silence, just grateful to have, what we have. I hope you all have a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.