Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

A Bit Premature, In My Opinion!

Last night I spent the evening at my sister's house. When talking with her adult children and their spouses, the topic of Christmas trees came up and how early they go up these days. I offered my observation that they often go up in the UK earlier than in the US (in public places, anyway) because in the US things traditionally don't get going until Thanksgiving which is in late November. In the US Thanksgiving is usually seen as the beginning of the 'Holiday Season'. I predicted that when I went to Heathrow the next day that the Christmas Trees would be up. I was right!

Even when I hear Americans complaining when Christmas gets going before Thanksgiving, they are still generally putting up the decorations after we are in the UK. Thankfully, in people's homes, things are much more restrained in the UK and people's personal trees and decorations go up much closer to Christmas day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.