lemonzest

By lemonzest

Blowing over from the West

I blipped this before going to Augustow to collect D from the bus from Warsaw. A big day in Augustow which I was even quite excited about. The thousands of lorries should have ceased their daily thunder through the town since the controversial bypass has opened on time. The Rospuda has been saved and perhaps there's an end to some of the ceaseless grumbling too after seven years and 20 years of endless HGVs.

They still hadn't changed the cycle for the traffic lights on the way into Augustow but it gave me the time to look in awe at the absence of traffic that I was theoretically waiting for. There were still one or two lorries that I saw, maybe they were bewildered or lost but Augustow was indeed sleepy and unusually quiet.

D's bus was very late but we knew about that. It was at least half an hour late leaving. The bus scheduled after it arrived a good 10 minutes earlier and I watched a police car looking very bored in the absence of trucks to stop. D eventually disembarked and we whizzed to the flat to check the heating was working before we headed home. Arrived back to find the heating working enthusiastically and a bit of shredding performed by the skilled practitioner Kajtek.

Some nice things today: a thank you email for something I had done recently, JP rang to invite me round tomorrow and D is back.

There was also a personal visit from the tax office which wasn't for us but the previous owner, who hasn't lived here for around 10 years. He said who he was looking for and I suggested he wasn't the only one. He went away and finally the dogs stopped barking. He was polite and closed the gate. It wasn't always like that. Some things have definitely improved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.