random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Play Up

What A DAY!

The girls came for pancakes, invite carefully worded to make it clear but not to mention that the afternoon was alcohol free. And they brought me as bottle of red wine!

Taught them how to toss. And introduced them to cucumber sandwiches with no crusts (a failure) and marmite (a success).

They cleared out in time for the Pompay game, and the boys arrived. So I showed them the beer, which impressed them, but they insisted it had to go in the freezer to cool further than the fridge was allowing. Two insisted they couldn't start drinking at 6. When one eventually started half an hour later he decided to drink the last glass out the poor bottle of indian white which has been there for weeks. And then tried a glass of red and put the bottle in the fridge. Later I asked him if he was a wine drinker - no, I've never drunk it before!

A day of exclamations. Pompey won. I then joined the others on the balcony and we watched the hockey (after turning tv round to face outiwards). England beat India.

And mum, not only did I not wear a helmet, but I was three up on a motorbike. But its ok the driver wasn't drinking beer. He brought his own vodka. And we only went to the local curry house - where I finally had a very hot dal tarka. I've no idea whether we had lights on.

I've been here a month. It is an amazing place.

This afternoons shopping was frustrating, queuing for flour in the big bazaar, then for veg, then at the checkout. Bloke ran two bags full through, bill standing at 1500/- and he hadn't finished when the register failed. Ended up unpacking the bags and rescanning and the bill came to 1000/- total. Eh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.