Simply Me

By Suze981

Life is beautiful

I walked into town today to pay my respects at the Remembrance Garden in Princes Street Gardens, remembering those that gave their lives to protect the freedoms we have today.

While I was there I saw that the Scott Monument was open. Despite living in Edinburgh for over a decade now, I'd never been to the top. I can't say that anymore!

I climbed the 287 steps (some of which are rather tight and steep) and looked down on the gardens below. As you can see its a stunning day in Edinburgh and the views from the top are spectacular. A perfect day to remember that life is beautiful.

The monument has a myth - or so the attendant told me. Apparently many people say they see a woman in a red coat at the top of the monument - even when there is no one there. Today I was the myth; I was the woman in the red coat at the top looking down.

In other news, I ran 5k this morning. That used the be the minimum distance I'd ever run - today though it's quite an achievement. I had no pain and my orthotics barely rubbed at all. A triumph. It means I deserve this Black Forest Hot Chocolate that I'm drinking!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.