Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Bikes in the Sunshine

I'm making a blip appearance today, courtesy of my husband. This is me riding a bike for the first time in years! We've talked on and off about getting me a bike for awhile, but the timing never seemed right. After all, as recently as last summer, neither kiddo could bike independently, and we only had one trail-a-bike (attached to Ben's bike), so there was no real option to do any family biking.

But now, the stars have aligned - everyone is able to ride his or her own bike, and we woke to a sunny, gorgeous spring day. So after breakfast we headed to Target and chose a simple women's coaster bike for me, and then spent the rest of the morning and early afternoon enjoying the paths at Willamette Park. In addition to reveling in the sunshine and admiring the river, we were treated to the sight of a visiting eagle!

E did take one pretty big spill, but his helmet did its job, and he recovered well. A was able to practice riding up and down a small hill, and got good at using her brakes. Both kids also got a little bit of practice following the "rules of the road" when approaching (or being passed by) other bikers and pedestrians.

As for me, luckily, riding a bike really does seem to be one of those things you don't forget. I had a blast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.