Long Slow Distance

By platanos

Mission accomplished

Chilled to the marrow by a ferocious wind under a clear blue sky, knees stiff and aching, perspiration icy cold against my skin, I completed the Eastbourne Half Marathon this morning in a time of 1:50:47. Respectable enough for an old crock like me.

Most of this 13.1 mile fast race, which set off from Princes Park, took place out and back along the exposed seafront, with a nasty climb up Beachy Head Road about two to three miles into the run. With a final dash around the quayside at Sovereign Harbour, we headed back to Princes Park for the finish. Chocolates, bananas, and, above all, a very fine medal.

Those good souls amongst you might like to follow my training efforts for the Brighton Marathon on 18 April, which I will be running in aid of Sussex Wildlife Trust. Modest sponsorship would be most welcome http://www.everydayhero.co.uk/richard_wiles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.