Birds and Boats

By Gormac

Osprey with fish

Yesterday the Osprey went fishing and after the usual couple of dives I could see it had a fish. I stood there looking through the lens and could see that it was struggling to lift the fish out of the water. Again and again it attempted to lift the fish and then I saw it, it must have been 2 kilos and I was getting a bit worried after the third attempt and I thought it might have been drowning, but then after 5 attempts it had to give in and let the fish go.

This morning it was a different situation, the Osprey managed to catch a very large fish and it could only fly about 1 metre off the water. When it got closer I could see that this fish was approx 1.5-2 kilos. As this was the Male Osprey it would have had more strength to carry this large fish.
It only managed to land in the tree near the nest which was about 2 metres off the ground.


birds and boats

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.