Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Photo show 300!

Today was a busy day, beginning flustered and ending totally mellow and happy. Catherine came by in the morning for a lecture. We talked about paramo ecology and fire all morning and even had a paramo jeopardy afterwards, which was so nerdy and fun. I was the only one holding it together for Seth and I´s group and we lost. Talk about embarrasing for the professors! We joked with the students that beating us could definitely affect their grade but they seemed not to care a bit. After missing the highest elevaton angiosperm tree and not quite remembering the genus name of the hummingbirds that pollinate giant puya flowers we never recovered. Hard questions right?!

In the afternoon my photo show went down. It was rushed and on short notice but Jenny, Chris, and I decided to do it before I´m gone again in the field. I leave again Monday and we have to make it happen. I grabbed the last photos, shaved my beard, and even got a haircut (way too short I may add) just for the show. In the end we chose to keep it simple and I focused on just twelve selections; five in the main cafe and the rest in the courtyard of the hacienda adjoining. There were so many to choose I had no idea where to begin at first but decided to focus on Ecuador and where I work. It seemed only fitting after all since this is my real work and how I know this landscape. All the large photographs I displayed were of landscapes or portraits of Ecuadorian wildlife, mostly taken from my work in Sangay National Park where we´re based. I also chose twenty five big postcard size prints of shots from around the world. A collection of some of my best.

Although we made it really informal with little advertisement and just some appetizers and low key guitar playing, I felt so proud and empowered to look at my art displayed on the walls. I met several writers and artists who came to the event, including Edgar Carrasco, a famous Ecuadorian painter who chatted me up for a while and of course my students and meager friends here came, Stu´s family stopping by and Catherine as well. And you what the bonus is!? I even sold some of my photos, with a couple more promised meaning I´ve already just about covered the expense of printing them.¨Sell artwork professionally¨ just got marked off my life list of things to do. Yes!

After the show I met the students downtown, freshly wet and confettied from countless water balloon crusades. We grabbed some dinner followed by gelato ice cream runs, funky Ecuadorian retro bars, and finally found ourselves at a low key lounge sipping caipriinhas before Seth and I turned the students loose for late night Carnival. It was a great day.

This is us! I used the timer on Jenny´s camera for this shot. I, the photographer forgot my camera coming to my own photo show...how embarassing. From left to right. Chris, Me, Jenny, and Catherine laid out across our knees. These are the guys who helped me put it together. Jenny and Chris, my warm and humurous Australian expat buddies. Catherine, me amiga and companera here. Finally making some friends and many thanks for friends. I am grateful for all.

ps. Many warm thanks to the blip community, the blip staff, and especially those who are patient enough to subscribe to my erratic and tardy journal. It has been a committment to keep blipping when I'm away in the field for weeks at a time but I would never think of missing a day. Thanks for all the great comments and helping me get to 300!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.