walking in the city

By inthecity

International Women's Day

In honour of International Women's Day, I chose to showcase women writers who totally rock: Djuna Barnes, Simone de Beauvoir, Dionne Brand, Sandra Cisneros, Denise Chong, Annie Dillard, Janet Frame, Barbara Gowdy, Sunetra Gupta, Joy Kogawa, Erika Lopez, Lee Maracle, Sylvia Plath, Jean Rhys, Mary Shelley, Alice Walker, Jeanette Winterson. So many more are absent from the shot. Also, I had a plumber here all day installing a fancy new shower, and ladies, he was TOTALLY hunky.

Other blips with IWD potential that did not get blipped for various reasons:

> The two cute girls holding hands on Danforth (and fairly reeking of patchouli)
> My copy of Radical Feminism: A Documentary Reader (out on loan; dear God I better get that back)
> Someone's T-shirt: Tell your boyfriend to stop calling me


Ps. This shot is rather hastily staged and poorly lit, I'm afraid. No amount of post seemed to help. :\

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.