Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Pumpkins Galore!

Over the last few weeks I have had a variety of pumpkins and gourds decorating the steps outside of my front door. My British friends and neighbours always find this quite amusing as it seems that unless it is a Jack-O-Lantern, this is not done in the UK. It is quite common in the US. I love the Fall displays on people's doorsteps in the US, especially when they consist of different kinds of pumpkins! The best part of this type of display is that it can be eaten afterwards!

Today I decided it was time, and I replaced the doorstep decoration with a more traditional planter. This evening I started roasting the pumpkins and gourds and tomorrow I will cook something up with the flesh. Not sure what yet…the possibilities are numerous….pie, soup, bread. I don't really mind - I like just about anything made with pumpkin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.