Day to day today

By Jewels4663

Pink Panther

When I moved to London in 1983, I would go clubbing almost every night. There were two clubs on Finchley Road that we particularly favoured; Les Elites and the Purple Pussycat. I would finish work at 11pm (I was a hotel receptionist), run upstairs to get changed and we would head out. Get in at about 2 or 3am, then be up at 6.30am to start a shift at 7.00am - and the same again the next night!!

It was at the tail end of the New Romantic era so we would occasionally go to the Camden Palace, but only a couple of times - it was too expensive and too packed!

My dad saw this and apparently it made me think of him, coming home after a night out and staggering along the pavement clutching on to lamp posts to keep me upright! The fact that I have never been a drinker seemed to pass him by. I also wonder whether he saw some link between the Purple Pussycat and the Pink Panther!

Great days, and this still lives on my windowsill - I smile every time I give if a wipe over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.