N Arnison & Sons

Today's the day ........................ for a town trail

I do like a good town trail.

You know - the sort of thing where you get a little brochure with the streets of a town and places of interest marked with a number. It's a bit like a treasure trove. You find your way round according to the map. Then you stop at all the places with the numbers and read out what you are looking at. I never cheat either - by taking a short cut or something. It's all very satisfying!

I found myself in Penrith today with a couple of hours to spare while Will was at a meeting. There was a free illustrated trail guide on offer at the Tourist Information Centre - and so that's what I did. Of course, I did recognise some of the centre of the town because it has been blipped by Paula who lives nearby - but that made it all the better.

It is such an interesting place to explore - with so much to see. I actually went into this incredible shop which seemed as if it had hardly changed since the business was first established. The premises once belonged to William and Dorothy Cookson (the grandparents of William Wordsworth) and were bought and rebuilt by Arnisons in the 1850s ..................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.