Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Fire!

A quiet day today, I popped to the shop to get something for dinner (some sausages, eggs, potatoes), when I got home I put the shopping bag beside the hob and put a pot of water to boil the potatoes on a hob. A couple minutes later the fire alarm went off, I entered the kitchen to find it thick with smoke! It was so dark I thought the light had gone out for a second and then spotted the flames! The shopping had toppled over onto the hob and caught fire! I grabbed a kitchen towel to smother the flames to no avail, I then thought a damp towel would work better ran it under the tap and tried to smother the flames again, when I lifted the towel the flames shot up again, at this point I realised the gas ring was still on! I turned the gas down and tried again, the flames still wouldn't go out! At this point I was considering grabbing my little fire extinguisher when I realised I had no actually turned the gas ring off (just turned it down to minimum). I turned it off and smothered the flames and then pour water over the hob.

It looks worse than it is, the wall and cabinet had mostly soot which washed off, the hob was undamaged, the only thing that is knackered is the plastic light cover above the hob which melted. :-(

It's all cleaned up now and you would hardly know anything happened, the wooden cabinet is slightly singed but not too badly. My shopping was pretty much ruined, with plastic and polystyrene melted over it!

I dug out a packet of ravioli and cooked it on the hob with some tomato paste, garlic, and chilli garlic dressing and had it on toast (it was good).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.