Freyjad

By Freyjad

Old Lane Mill

This is my entry for Sarum Stroller's Derelict Thursday Challenge:-

I've driven past this mill lots of times, but have never stopped to look before today; the place is absolutely huge, and my photo doesn't show the sheer size of it or the enormous chimney and boiler house. I took plenty of shots of course, and finally settled on this one which I hope you like.

Records show that a mill has stood on this site from as far back 1816; and that a steam-powered worsted mill was build by James Akroyd in 1825 - one of the largest mills in the district.

Akroyd build the first jacquard looms in Britain and the mill was iron framed and fitted with stone floors (another first) to support the machinery. Today it stands sad and abandoned - a monument to past times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.