Playing life by ear.

By Crazyoldbird

Cause and effect.

Cause:
The mouse and his family have long since departed, thanks to our wonderful dogs and their team work, but to be on the safe side I still kept the sugar in a glass jar.

Said glass jar got broken yesterday, but as related in Italian by Mr.S., it sounded to me as though it had broken itself and having done so, sat beside the sink, sugar and all, waiting for guess who to clean it up.

I think in English, someone would have said "I broke the jar" , not "the jar got broken" or "the jar broke itself". This may sound petty but I can see the sense of responsibility changes and an emerging pattern!

Effect: I cut my index finger. :-/

I almost forget to mention that Alessandro was with us after school, right up until 10.30pm when his parents returned from a family errand.

After dinner we watched a film in which a mongrel dog raced against greyhounds. As they raced, he said "He (the mongrel) will win. The protagonist always wins"
How does he know that at his age?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.