Retirement in Montana

By tomtaylor

Thawing lake

The lake is starting to thaw around the edges. This is the view from our bedroom window and what sold us on living in Montana and moving out of So Calif.

Today is our 5 year wedding anniversary. At the time of our wedding, I was living with my mom and taking care of her. She needed 24 hour care and my sister and I had promised our folks they would never have to go to a nursing home. Tom was always her favorite and when we got married, she was thrilled. We had dated for 9 years so she was pretty use to him being around. He would come over for dinner every night and at 9:00pm, mom's bedtime, he would go to his home. When we got back home, Tom started staying with mom and I but one night he decided he needed to go stay at his house so it didn't look vacant. When he got up to leave, mom looked at him and said, "Where do you think you are going?" He told her he was going to sleep at his place that night and she said. "You don't need to go there. You married us and you now belong here." After he explained what he was doing, she was okay with it as long as it was just the one night. Mom was very outspoken. She was only 4 foot 9 inches and weighed 85 pounds and you did not want to cross her because she had a way with words. I will blip her in the next few days and tell you about her arrival on Ellis Island in 1912.

Today, I want to dedicate this blip to mine and mom's favorite person, Tom.
You have been a part of my life for 14 years. It took us 9 years before we decided that we belonged together as man and wife and wanted to grow old together. You are a very caring and wonderful person and I thank God everyday for you. I love you Tom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.