PJG844

By PJG844

Iron Masters

Time for the next stage but before that we took another stroll through Inverness. As we were walking past a sports bar/snooker hall I looked up and noticed 3 murals. One had pretty much been obliterated but the other 2 were still very clear. Before I asked anyone if they had any idea what they are, I thought I'd search for it via Google (they say Google is your friend. Well, I suppose it is if your friend talks about you behind your back. Or tells tales to to people to get you in trouble. Or, allegedly, doesn't pay tax).

Apparently this building began life as the offices of the Rose Street Foundry. It later became the premises of AI Welding whose welders worked on the fuel pipeline that eventually supported the D-Day landings and subsequent advance towards Germany. They also made parts for Spitfires, and welded the hubs into which carried the propeller blades. And that's as far I've got. When the mural was produced I cannot say but I hope these are going to be saved.

Second part of our journey to Hull. Nothing exciting spotted and neither would 3M stop if there was. Highlight was 3M engaging cruise control so that we could seat dance to Bomb the Twist by The 5,6,7,8's. Only concern was that any other driver may have thought two old g*ts were having convulsions.

Tomorrow is onwards and over the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.