Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Aerial Tram

It's a bit poetic that I chose to blip a scene from my workplace today, as my Chinese visa also returned in the mail this afternoon. (It's still a bit surreal!)

The hospital in which I work is built on a hill, which probably seemed like a great idea a long time ago. It certainly contributes to the sense of being its own little community, which I appreciate, but it also presents space and transportation challenges. Several years ago when the hospital ran out of space to expand on said hill, they purchased a chunk of land directly down the hill next to the river (across several neighborhoods and an interstate), and began building there. To connect the two hospital locations, this aerial tram was constructed. Though it's primarily used by employees and patients, it is also so unique (and offers such stunning views) that it is a tourist icon.

I don't often have an occasion to ride the tram, as I work in the children's hospital on the hill. However, today I had a medical appointment of my own, and most of the adult outpatient services are at the "waterfront" (ie: the bottom of the hill). So, I got to enjoy a 4-minute tram ride to and fro, and the accompanying gorgeous views. When I returned to the top to head back to work, I paused for a moment to blip the tram headed back down.

Reflecting on it, my absolute favorite thing about the tram is that E associates it with "mama's work." Anytime we see the aerial tram, usually when driving beneath it, he points and yells, "Mom! Look! Your work!" Even though I know he's visited my office, sometimes I wonder if he thinks I actually work ON the tram.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.