Medlar

I stumbled across a very old medlar tree and this is a fruit from it.

Mespilus germanica is a tree whose fruit is eaten after it has been bletted.

Now that is a word that needs a little explanation and thanks to Wiki, we have one.

Bletting is a process that certain fleshy fruits undergo, beyond ripening. There are some fruits that are either sweeter after some bletting, such as sea buckthorn, or for which most varieties can be eaten raw only after bletting, such as medlars, persimmons, quince, service tree fruit, and wild service tree fruit

Those of you that were paying attention when I shown my persimmon will remember that I like them very, very over ripe...or bletted!

Once you get over the pompous nature of the above, I hope it is mildly interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.