Gavlars Journal

By Gavlar

So close yet so far.

For my birthday last week wifey brought me this beautiful decanter with which I then purchased a nice South Australian Pepperjack Shiraz to christen it.

After spending each night out for dinner we never got around to opening my bottle so I chucked it into my cabin luggage and headed to the airport. (You know where this is going huh)

Yes apon departing Melbourne airport I had to forfeit the $40 bottle of booze as I forgot you can only take max 500ml liquid as hand luggage ( duty free acceptable)

So here I am with a beautiful decanter, no mates to share and a back stop - my 1966 McWilliams Bakano.

That's right mathematicians I was 48 last week and yes this brew is genuine and unopened.

Think I'll wait for a loverly Central Otago Pinot to come on special.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.