PJG844

By PJG844

This shop is for life, not just for Christmas.

I hate Christmas* but I've always loved this shop. It's open all year round and I couldn't find a song title to match what I had in my head. The candle powered wooden carousels and various wooden toys make me feel like a child again, But they're expensive so I don't see me buying anything here. Admittedly the ones in the window have been adapted for battery power but I imagine it wouldn't be a good idea having a dozen or so of these things close together with lit candles. Bullseye, in the meantime, has been trained to seek out and worry any stray Santa Claus that should enter his vicinity.

Not a good nights sleep on the ferry, mainly because the crossing was so calm. I like my ships to roll and lurch, it gives me a sense of well-being and I can happily fall asleep. When I went out on deck there was an enormous forest of wind turbines in the Channel, all their myriad red lights flickering on and off, like Amsterdam in the busy 1960s (writers licence, I have no personal experience of that particular city, honest). And none of the turbines were moving because there was no wind. Bet they thought they were on a winner there.

It's been over a year since we last went to Belgium but when we went to places we've been previously people remembered us. In a good way, mind. Quite good for the ego when people seem genuinely pleased to see you. The only embarrassment was when we arrived at the hotel (where we've stayed before) the management sent up a bottle of Champagne and we had to apologetically explain that neither of us drank. 3M also started to get a wee bit stressed when we went to check in at the hotel as the space nearby to allow you to drop your luggage off was occupied. Those of you who have been to Bruges will know that to park in some of the streets is nearly impossible due to the narrowness of the roads. So poor 3M (see, I can give her sympathy) had to drive round in a circle (a large circle around multiple streets, not as if she was trying to do doughnuts) several times, not being helped by me saying “Ooh, look at that Laekenois” or “There's some amazing reliefs on that building” or even “Blimey, that's Alistair McGowan” (Tis true). Suffice to say, all was sorted and we are now happily ensconced in the Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce.

Lots of walking, one regretted visit to the Historium (might be OK if you have children 15 12 or under) and too many swans that insist that you feed them.

Tomorrow Ghent and then the Butt de Lion. Although I'm not a fan of sunny weather it would be nice if tomorrow is like today, so warm more people were eating outside the restaurants than inside this evening.

*Not so much that I hate Christmas in the proper context, more like the “oh, I've got to get a present for so and so” or “We have to send a card to thingy”. No you don't. If you like them you'll get them a present at any time of year otherwise it's just an obligation, innit. <Grumpy Old Man Mode = Off>.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.