Losing Things - (and People)

“You will lose someone you can’t live without,and your heart will be badly broken, and the bad news is that you never completely get over the loss of your beloved. But this is also the good news. They live forever in your broken heart that doesn’t seal back up. And you come through. It’s like having a broken leg that never heals perfectly—that still hurts when the weather gets cold, but you learn to dance with the limp.”
― Anne Lamott

Since Steve died I seem to misplace lots of items. Yesterday it was my make-up bag, (pictured), which I was convinced I'd left at Rachel's. Only while searching under the seats of the car tonight did I recall I'd put it in a soup pot I'd taken home from hers yesterday - for ease of carrying. I'm not totally mad - I didn't really think blusher and mascara could make anything the least bit tasty.

Tonight I'd filled a hot water bottle for another early night but I managed to lose it on the way to bed. I retraced my steps, phoned Poirot, but I've still no idea where it is hiding!

Phoned camera shop in Edinburgh to give the go ahead for long lens being mended. This shot was taken with Steve's camera, which miraculously seems to have recovered, following Charlie looking at it on Saturday. The power of love?

I heard a programme on Radio 4 tonight about the possibility of creating avatars of dead people, who would live on in computer form. It sounded very appealing, though the psychiatrists seemed to think it would hinder the acceptance of death. Rationally I know this is right - but I don't seem to be too sensible at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.