North Point Lighthouse

I've blipped this lighthouse before, but from the street side--today I took this from the Lake side. The lighthouse has a long history of guiding mariners to Milwaukee. It's location was chosen to mark the north point of Milwaukee Bay, was built in 1887 & first lit in 1888. The 39 foot octagonal cast-iron tower replaced an 1855 cream city brick lighthouse that was built too close to the eroding bluff. This Queen Anne-style keeper's dwelling was built at the same time. In 1912 the tower was almost doubled to its present height of 74 feet by lifting the existing tower atop a new structure. This resulted in a light source 154 feet above the level of Lake Michigan, visible up to 20 miles away. The US Coast Guard took the light out of service in 1994. I put a few more of the pictures I took today into my blipfolio in case you'd like to look at them. (unfortunately, as is usual for me, I couldn't remember how to link to my blipfolio!)
It's just beautiful out today! The snow stopped around 9 p.m. last night, & in the end we only got about 2 1/2 inches, which wasn't bad at all. The roads were all clear already this morning. I have off for the next 13 days , so did all my running around for last minute things I still needed for Thanksgiving dinner. I'm expecting about 20 people, give or take a couple! I do as much as I can in advance, as cooking isn't my strong point & that way if I goof something up I still have time to fix it! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.