OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Grey seal pup

I left the house in darkness to get the bus to Houton and the ferry to Hoy. As I walked through the town I heard a raven call from the spire of St Magnus' Cathedral. This was very unusual. I could only see a dark shape on a part of the tower, but id called again and it was definitely a raven. I like ravens so did not consider this a bad omen.
On Hoy, I caught the little community bus down to Walls and got off at the cemetery. I had a look at the (modern) carved stone bench there depicting some scenes from the life of Sigurd the Stout, Norse earl of Orkney. His banner depicted a raven. It was made by his mother who was skilled in magic. It guaranteed success in battle to the side which carried it- but death to the bearer. At the Battle of Clontarf in Ireland- three bearers fell, the battle wasn't going too well for the Norse. Sigurd was refused by the last man he ordered to carry the banner- 'bear your own demon' the man said. Sigurd wrapped the banner around himself and was speared to death soon after. I walked to the lighthouse and then along the cliffs overlooking the Pentland Firth. I did not know that this is a grey seal pupping area- each geo had its complement of adults and pups. See some more shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.