philmorris

By philmorris

Impact

A quality found in all the best car photos.

The car accident began to impact on me too. Yesterday evening I was fizzing like prosecco. The intellect was running at 11. But as I woke this morning things dawned on me. Apart from endlessly re-living the vital seconds building up to and following the collision, a certain phrase from the mouth of a police officer has been going around and around in my head. He began telling me 'I've spoken to the other driver and he's not a bad sort of bloke. He's very remorseful. I don't think you'll have any bother with him.' And then came these choice words 'I've told him he's very lucky he's not in the back of my car on his way into custody on a charge of causing death by dangerous driving'. I gulped and looked at him. He said 'I've had a look at your trajectory. You missed a great big tree by about this much.' And then he drew his index fingers together to suggest a matter of a few inches.

So whilst I'm supposed to feel lucky, and should feel really lucky, I don't right now.

I had a great brekky round at my mums, but the rest of the day I felt flat. I didn't go any where. I spent a few minutes looking at my trashed up car and that's about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.