A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

Load Of Balls

Today has been mostly a day I would rather forget. Until dinner time at least.

My report writing program crashed big-time this morning, due, I suspect, to some faulty software and user error elsewhere in the school. The result was a corrupted database containing all the pupils' end-of-term reports. The last backup I had made was a couple of hours earlier and about 100 reports had been entered by my stressed-out colleagues already since then.

I was not looking forward to telling them that they had to rewrite them all.

But I managed eventually to repair the damage - just- only four reports lost. Then it happened again a few minutes later. And again, and again, for an hour.

Of course the report deadline was lunchtime, so by the time I had discovered the cause of the problem and, I hope, remedied it, the phone was red hot.

Still, no lasting damage done, except to my blood pressure and nerves.

But this evening Mum took Jacqui and me and two friends to Da Bruno's in Cabopino for a lovely dinner. So by the time we got home, the usual mellowness had been restored to El Cid's demeanour.

Anyone who says that every blip has to be a great photograph is talking a load of balls. And my blip today proves it.

Have a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.