Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Green Willow

I was a bit annoyed with myself as I went out without the "big camera", thinking that there would be little opportunity for photos as Mum and I battled the Christmas / Black Friday shoppers. In the event, we had a successful trip topped off by a visit to the park for lunch in the unseasonable sunshine. Not wanting to waste the weather, I took a quick stroll round with the compact camera and found this shot of willow trees and geese next to the lake.

They bought to mind a Shakespeare song sung by Desdemona to Emilia before going to certain death with Orthello. I have also sung arrangements of this in choir:

The poor soul sat sighing by a sycamore tree,
Sing all a green willow:
Her hand on her bosom, her head on her knee,
Sing willow, willow, willow:
The fresh streams ran by her, and murmur’d her moans;
Sing willow, willow, willow;
Her salt tears fell from her, and soften’d the stones;
Sing willow, willow, willow;
Sing all a green willow must be my garland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.