If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Turnstone ( Arenaria interpres)

Our second day in Edinburgh. For a long time Clickychick had wanted to visit Crammond so despite the dark dismal day off we set. I wasn't quite sure what to expect but the village was quite picturesque.

I think it was the causeway and the concrete piles beside it which CC was visualising as a shot. Personally I was too busy watching the birds. This resulted in some annoyingly poor pleasing shots. Now at least one person is thinking they can't be both, well oh yes they can. I made a basic mistake (probably because I was chatting and enjoying the company too much) of having a narrow depth of field and a high ISO. As a result many of my shots were far too noisy making them annoyingly poor. On the other hand I managed to get a lot of flying birds actually in the frame - not half in or missing completely which was pleasing.

Lots of birds presented themselves, Black Headed Gull, Common Gull, Turnstone, Dunlin, Grey Heron, Cormorant, Carrion Crow, a single Hooded Crow, Redshank etc. This is one of the few shots out of the couple of hundred I took which I am prepared to post.

After the walk we warmed up with coffee in a lovely little cafe full of character and right down by the river mouth. Katkatkat has said she will guide us back in the spring/summer when the weather is a better so I am hoping my technique for flying birds will be sorted by then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.