philmorris

By philmorris

Near Birdingbury

Shortly prior to one I nipped over to Birdingbury. I have always had a soft spot for their simple, Georgian church, built 1775. I parked at the lychgate. Unfortunately, I had wrongly surmised that a path or two might lead to and from the church. So after wandering around it's hindquarters I returned to the lychgate and strolled a half mile down the hill to a lane leading to a field and a couple of dozen ducks sunning by the bank of the River Leam. Both sides of the river bank were unusual in that they were bereft of hedge or fence, and the grass of the field terminated at the river's edge with only a narrow margin of stubby, yellowing reeds.

Beyond the river and to the north, the ground rose gently to Draycote Hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.