Mother's Day

There were always going to be some days this year that were harder than others, and today was one of them. Even though I am now a mother myself and have two amazing girls, at the back of my mind I was thinking of Mam. The first time you do anything after a major loss is always the hardest I guess. Until the first year without her is up, there will be a few more days like this.

The sideboard is full of photos. It seemed fitting today to feature photos of Mam and the girls (those photos of the girls were taken when Grace was 4 1/2 months old and Ophelia was about 8 weeks old, hahaha. Ophelia isn't quite so chunky now...). Also there are the classic moonpig card that I received today and a statuette that was a Christmas present from Hubby. Oh, and a very big clock hanging on the wall!

How we spent today was completely my choice: I fancied a look out to the Metro Centre since we hadn't been for a while and shopping is a bit of a treat/rarity. It was my choice of lunch venue, so we went to Big Lukes, a north-east institution!!! I also popped into LUSH where they were having a Mother's Day special with free tea and cakes. I stocked up on a couple of products and we helped ourselves to some yummy cakes, but I couldn't have a cuppa as Grace was being a real handful. She wasn't her usual self at all today and had tantrum after tantrum whilst we were out. Typically, this had to be the day we bumped into an NCT buddy who we hadn't seen in over two years. She was looking radiant, svelte, beautifully coiffed and manicured as always: all this whilst expecting baby #3. Her two boys, who apparently are complete angels, sat cherub-like in their pushchair whilst Grace bansheed and taz-devilled her way around Mothercare.

It was that type of day.

Grace redeemed herself in the car on the way home where she was back to her sweet self and came out with some cracking and very cute one-liners. Special thanks to Hubby today, who has gone out of his way all day to be extra lovely to me, and to Ophelia who slept through the whole night again last night for the first time in a couple of weeks and was, as per usual, a complete angel when we were out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.