Leadenhall Market

On a dull, misty, drizzly day there is still always something to photograph in London.

This market is near the offices I was at today and what a find. I thought I knew most places in London but this was a total suprise for me, I loved it.

A little research suggests this is Central Avenue in Leadenhall Market.

The market dates from the 14th century. The ornate roof structure and cobbled floors of the current structure were designed in 1881 by Sir Horace Jones (who was also the architect of Billingsgate and Smithfield Markets).

Between 1990 and 1991 the market received a dramatic redecoration which transformed its appearance, enhancing its architectural character and detail.

It was used to represent the area of London near The Leaky Cauldron and Diagon Alley in the film Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone.

Leadenhall Market most recently made history when it formed part of the marathon course of the 2012 Olympic Games.

I didn't have my tripod so this shot took a little bit of intuition and balancing.

Ther's lovely symmetry and detail in LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.