Daily Vision

By terryb

March Madness

Before I get to the meaning of this blip..... As I thinking about what I was going to do today, I was a little bit flipped out today when I started to count up the number of days that I've had to figure out a blip from an airplane or hotel room.

In the US college basketball is a very popular sport especially in March when the NCAA tournament is played. In every office you can essentially join a pool to predict not only the tournament winner but all the games along the way. In the afternoons into the evening all the offices with TVs have the games tuned in. The tournament runs several weeks and the the whole thing has been names March Madness. Lots of fun even for those that don't follow basketball extensively for the whole season.

To get into the tournament many of the big divisions have a tournament before the tournament. Performance at the "pre-tournament" impacts your seeding in the tournament.

So, how does the first paragraph fit into the NCAAs ??? Well, today I flew to LA for some meetings that were going to start early enough that the first flight out in the AM wasn't feasible. Arriving at the hotel, it was clear that my hotel played host to the Pac 10 tournament that ended today and helped determine the seedings. Everywhere you looked (floors, windows, poles) there were reminders....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.