Legacy

By Legacy

Almost

Lizzie's been blipped in her "throne" before, but this time she seems to fit better and that's because at her weigh-in today we discovered that she's lost another pound. She's now 16.6, down from 21+.

To recap, since her diagnosis of diabetes a couple weeks ago, I've managed to administer 30 insulin shots without incident which means that she hasn't yelped in pain and I haven't stabbed myself with a needle. As a matter of fact, she doesn't seem to feel the needle at all for which I am eternally grateful, but then it is a very small needle so that's probably why. We've got it down to a routine now. After I feed her in the morning and evening, I sneak up on her, talk sweetly as I target a spot and then give her a little rubdown and a lot of loving afterwards. I can tell she feels much better. She's actually played with her toys a couple of times which is quite entertaining to watch. I'm just so glad she's happy despite the shot. It's been much easier than I thought it would be. So, I guess we're doing okay.

By the way, I just noticed that I posted a picture that rather prominently shows the shaved spot on her shoulder. Nothing serious -- the vet did that to help me find a spot for her insulin shot since the hardest part of the process was seeing through the fur.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.