Sunday: The International Bazaar

Well, I did a very 'expat' think today by helping out on the British stall at the International Christmas Bazaar.  Explaining that mince pies aren't made out of minced meat can be quite complex........

After my stint was over, I indulged in a very international food experience.  My Hungarian colleague handed me a free plum brandy at 11.30 am - this was then followed by an exceptionally strong Irish coffee from the Irish stall (I also bought my colleague, Vicki, one as it was her birthday, after which we weaved our way round the other stalls).  The Irish coffee was so strong that it sent me a bit other, so I headed over to the Canadian stall where they were serving Tim Horton's coffee - I had one to set me back on the right track but it was so strong it just made my eyes roll.  My only sensible purchase was some Korean sushi for lunch.  As for the Chinese stall, I took a photo but didn't eat anything there.

This evening, Vicki had an impromptu gathering for her birthday - pizza and beer.  It was good fun, a nice international mix, including Gloria, visiting from Fort Worth, who made some amazing popcorn covered in white chocolate.  If you ever run into Gloria, you must try some!

As you can imagine, it's not been a good day for the waistline!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.