Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Golden moment

Tree-decorating time at #2 son's house last night. I got some lovely photos of the beautiful Bella transported by delight in the excitement of the season, but it is this one that touches my heart most. Here's a poem I've been revising from time to time over the past forty years.

Ode to a Golden Boy

You are the toddler with
corn-silk hair and dimpled
legs on a tire swing I hang
from a pine tree in Louisiana,
the four-year-old skipping
beside me to the village créche
in Cordes-sur-Ciel, France.
You are the soccer goalie
I root for in Austin, Texas,
the aikido warrior whose sensei
teaches me to make ginger tea,
the drummer whose band
blasts alternative rock from
a basement in Massachusetts.

I know your scars and bones:
a scar by your left eye from
learning to walk in Mississippi;
your upper lip sliced open
on a marble table when you
bounced off a couch at three,
the leg you broke leaping
from an oak in New Orleans.
I know your skateboard fractures,
the radiator burn on the back
of your hand. A mosh-pit pileup
shattered your knee still held
together with a metal screw
implanted in Bloemfontein.
I know your golden body by heart.

You are a horseman tearing across
the roof of Africa, a music major
in Durban, a sound man who
drives the best board
in the business, a father
who brings home the perfect
tree, then settles the star
on the top. Wherever you are,
I sing your name, whatever you do,
we have bruised each other to life,
and everything you touch
is golden in my eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.