Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Last Leaves

My aunt Priscilla, Mom's older sister, was killed last Friday in a car accident. Her overall age and health was probably such that she shouldn't have been driving and every account seems to indicate she was at fault in the accident. I had not seen aunt Priscilla in years. Rummaging through some old albums this evening I came upon this photo of aunt Priscilla riding a skateboard. The photo is dated 1965 (the year I was born) and very accurately reflects the aunt I knew and heard about when I was growing up. Priscilla was a night club singer in the 60's and 70's and owned race horses with her husband Stanley. As I recall, she had a penchant for fast cars and high hair-dos, earning her the nickname "hot pants" from my father, who used to joke that she was always speeding from one high adventure to another.

Representing one of the last leaves from her generation on the family tree, Priscilla's passing also reinforces something I've come to realize personally, as well - life happens quickly and I need to make something of the time that's been gifted to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.