Igor

By Igor

December challenge; one …. is the loneliest number

Performing solo is not for the faint hearted. I’ve done it a couple of times and I really don’t like it. Because it’s not just about the singing - that’s the easy part. It’s the entertaining, the talking to the audience, building a rapport - that’s the important part. And it’s something I just find really hard to do.

I’m a team-player by nature - I like being part of a band. We each have a role to play and we share the jokes, the chat, the heckling.

I tend to stand at the back while the musicians play their twiddly bits, until it’s my turn …..

And then the man, he steps right up to the microphone
And says “at last “ just as the time bell rings
"Goodnight, now it's time to go home."
And he makes it fast with one more thing….


(Dire Straits)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.