Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Orange Wednesday in #Huddersfield

WEDNESDAY

I missed out on blipping yesterday's spectacular morning sky because I was late out of bed. I got myself through the door a little bit earlier this morning and due to the lack of traffic (and roadworks) managed to catch the sun coming up over the horizon.

This shot was taken from Fixby looking over towards the Emley Moor transmitter some eight miles away.

The transmitter, built in 1971, stands some 1083-ft high and is the tallest self-supporting structure in the UK. It was awarded Grade II Listed status in 2002.

It's not open to the public but I have been up a few times as part of my work with the Environmental Health service. About 10 years ago I donned a climbing harness to go up the vertical ladder through the channel 5 antenna right at the top of the mast. I can honestly say that I have never been as scared in all my life.

The bright start to the day didn't last. Strong winds, driving rain and sleet by midday. At 3pm it was so dark that the street lights were on.

Good day at work despite the horrible weather which doesn't look as though it is going to improve over the next few days.

More pictures of the sunrise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.