Prawns - Fantastic News!!

As outdoorguy so Prophetically said.....

With the daylight...comes the dawn.
And with the dawn...comes the prawn(s.)

And how right he was. Fresh off the trawler this morning and the good news is CCN is allergic to shellfish so the Wombat got to eat them all!! Whoopee!!

Well I had a choice of blipping the before or the after image and my wicked side won out tonight! They were wonderful and this afternoon CCN and I had a philisophical discussion as to why a feed of prawns is in fact so wonderful. I have decided that a huge part of the ritual for me is about the wonderful memories that it brings back.

When we were growing up in Perth our holidays all revolved around fishing, crabbing and prawning and we used to sit down to the most amazing feast of whatever the catch of the day was. It was a great event that often involved aunties, uncles, grandparents and friends. Mum and Dad were always great ones for teaching us that breaking bread around the table was a magical thing. It was a philosophy that has followed me throughout my life. It's one of my favourite things to do.

When you sit down to a feast of prawns it has to be a simple table. Plenty of newspaper, big bowls of warm water and large bowls for the discarded prawn shells. Fresh bread and butter and perhaps a bottle of vinegar and a home made seafood sauce. (Mum's was the best - Plain yoghurt, tomato sauce with a touch of tabasco).

Quite often these days I reflect back on my life and realise that I have been blessed beyond belief to have had the parents I had and to still have two wonderful brothers.

Those damn prawns have made me all sentimental!!!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.