My day

By 59

Summer hydrangeas

This part of the yard is difficult. Dry soil under large pine trees ( pine trees are not my favourite), near an iron fence. I grew hydrangeas in pots there last year with some success but I needed to water them twice a day. This year I put them in wicking pots, just some cheap plastic buckets with a layer of sand, drainage hole and potting mix in the top. It seems to have worked and I am only needing to water weekly. They have grown rapidly but I must admit the plastic pots wouldn't suit some posh gardens. They would look good in half wine barrels.

Yesterday our son in law turned 40. Today our daughter in law turned 30. Tomorrow it is our daughters turn to have a birthday. Wow, makes me feel ancient. Happy birthday to our lovely family....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.