Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Glory Days

Went for a walk lunchtime, purely with the intention of finding a blip, otherwise I'd have just been sitting round the office, so Blip and keep fit!

There was actually a bit of warmth in the sun today and had a pleasant walk round by the lake and pitch & putt. I then noticed the floodlights of the athletics track. Once upon a time I used to finish work and instead of driving home, went over to the track for a couple of hours. So I had a wander round and took a few pictures for old times sake which drew a few strange looks from the groundsman.

Unfortunately athletics is a very unforgiving sport, everything is either measured against the stopwatch or on the measuring tape, so even though you can extend your career by competing in veterans categories, it doesn't stop the thoughts that the times & distances you can now achieve aren't actually very good. So you'll no longer find me running, jumping and throwing - I've got new sports to keep myself amused - where I don't look back on the Glory Days.


Now I think I'm going down to the well tonight
and I'm going to drink till I get my fill
And I hope when I get old I don't sit around thinking about it
but I probably will
Yeah, just sitting back trying to recapture
a little of the glory of, well time slips away
and leaves you with nothing mister but
boring stories of glory days

Glory days well they'll pass you by
Glory days in the wink of a young girl's eye
Glory days, glory days

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.