Herstory

By Snazzledazzle

Hospital

I got a phone call from my brother at around 11am on Sunday morning to say that my mum had been rushed into hospital. He drove us up to Inverness. She was very shaken and seemed very frail. When I held her hand, for the first time in about 40 years, her skin was paper thin. Her heart hasn't been working properly for a while and she gets fluid on her lungs. She has tablets to take away the fluid but I guess they hadn't been working properly and she couldn't breathe.

(She spent 6 days in hospital, but after increasing her tablets she is a lot better. She is due to get a pig's valve put in her heart, hopefully soon. Looking back on the whole thing from my perspective I was surprised at how strong I could become, when someone I love needed me. It made me really happy that I was there for my mum and I didn't give two hoots about work. I knew I was in the right place.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.