A feeding Redwing on Rodborough Common

I noticed on the weather forecast that around lunchtime was likely to be brighter, so I poked my head out of the window facing the prevailing winds, and yes, there was a bit of blue sky and a few rays of sunshine in the distance.  I quickly got the rest of my work done and headed out by car having decided that Rodborough Common might be a good place to wander about, as there are fine views to be had from up there.

Having driven up the steep Butterow hill,  I turned sharply right when I reached the plateau to head along the ridge of the hill towards the parking places from where I could easily get access to the old paths across the common.  I was briefly amused by some workmen who were painting the markings on the road by the parking place indicating the speed restriction.  

I couldn't resist taking some pictures as it was quite interesting to watch the intricate team work that they needed to use the very hot thermo-plastic white paint which seemed to virtually dry on contact with the road.  Just as the paint was laid on the tarmac another man came and drifted fine pellets of reflective granules which were gripped by the paint and provide illumination at night time when headlights shine.  Easy when you know how.  I thought this might be my blip as I had framed them against the far side of the valley with our house clearly visible in the distance immediately behind the workmen's activities.

But I hadn't reckoned on the attractions of the many redwings feeding on the abundant berries and hips available to them on the various shrubs and trees dotted about the common.  Before I got closer to them I thought they might be starlings.  Then I saw one flying and noticed the bright red patches under its wings and realised what bird it was.  A woman walking nearby, and there are many on the common, asked what birds i was photographing.  She then told me that they are varieties of thrush, which becomes clear when you see the spots on their breasts, and she said that they fly in as winter visitors.  She also said that a lot of blackbirds fly in from places like Siberia and they are differentiated from local blackbirds by their darker bills.  Our local birds who live and breed here in the summer apparently fly off to warmer climates and leave the winter feeding to their Siberian relations!

I followed the redwings as they flew from tree to tree, particularly after being disturbed by walkers and dogs.  I couldn't get very close and the light was beginning to darken once the heavier cloud cover returned, so I couldn't just wait for the birds to settle.  I must go back and see if I can get better close-ups as they are very lovely birds and their behaviour in their various groups is rather appealing when they all flock together.

You can see the bird a bit more clearly if you look at it in a larger view by pressing the 'L' key.

The background view in the picture is looking westwards from the top of the Cotswold escarpment towards the Forest of Dean and Wales, which are on the far side of the River Severn, which you can see faintly in the far distance as a patch of white.  The river is about seven miles away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.