Meles

By meles

Lament

I was staying in a hotel last night, so slept fitfully as usual and put the radio on in the hope of lulling myself back to sleep. But it was the World Service and they were announcing the death of that lovely man Charlie Gillett on every one of their frequent news bulletins. I often used to hear his music programme on the WS in similar situations. Someone said something like: "He opened up the ears of the world".

And when I opened the paper on the train home I found this.

For the last couple of days I have had running through my head an unlikely version of Dido's lament (Purcell) that I heard on the radio recently - a fairly poor quality live recording of the haunting voice of Jeff Buckley singing it. I don't know if Charlie would have liked it, but it keeps echoing through my head.

Remember me
Remember me
But, ah,
Forget my fate.








Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.